The National Irrigators Council (NIC) has held its Annual General Meeting which included the election of new Directors to the Board. Steven Ford, Phillip Snowden and Rosalie Auricht have been appointed and bring a breadth of knowledge, skills and experience.

Steven Ford is the General Manager of Pioneer Valley Water in Queensland and has a wealth of both domestic and international experience in business, including in the energy sector. Steven has experience in all facets of business from planning and development to sales and client engagement, and has worked with not-for-profits and cooperative organisations. He is an avid supporter of the irrigated agriculture industry and a strong advocate on energy and water matters. He takes on the dedicated Queensland representative role on the Board.

Rosalie Auricht is the General Manager of Renmark Irrigation Trust in South Australia. Rosalie has qualifications in finance and has held roles in senior management and on boards in a variety of organisations, including in the not-for-profit sector. As an irrigator and member of Murraylands and Riverland Landscape Board water advisory committees, Rosalie brings a passion for water
management and stewardship to the role, and experience in working and negotiating with
governments and agencies.

Phillip Snowden is the Chair of Murray Irrigation in New South Wales. As a Fellow of the Peter Cullen Trust and graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Phillip brings tremendous industry and business know-how to the NIC Board. Phillip is a strong advocate for irrigated agriculture and, as a local farmer and Irrigation Infrastructure Operator, he has vast knowledge of
water policy, systems and farming practices. Phillip has expertise in working with governments and a
broad variety of stakeholders.

In addition, Mike Neville from Kilter Rural in Victoria and Jeremy Morton from the Ricegrowers Association of Australia in New South Wales, have been re-elected to the NIC Board. Mike and Jeremy both have extensive experience in farming, business and irrigated agriculture, and a drive to see Australia’s food and fibre industries flourish into the future.

These members join the existing team of Directors: Karen Hutchinson (Murrumbidgee Irrigation); Jenny McLeod (Coleambally Irrigation); Bernie George (Australian Food and Fibre); Michael Murray (Cotton Australia); and Caren Martin (South Australian Murray Irrigators).

The new Board has met for the first time and re-elected Jeremy Morton as Chair, Karen Hutchinson as Deputy Chair and Michael Murray as Chief Financial Officer.

The Board and Council acknowledge and thank this year’s retiring Directors, Gavin McMahon, Tim Napier, Dale Holliss and Toby Smith for their service to the Council. We wish them well into the future and recognise their contribution, passion and dedication to irrigated agriculture industries during their time on the Board.

NIC is the national voice for irrigators and irrigated agriculture in Australia, and the new Board looks forward to representing and championing the sector which feeds and clothes Australia and our trading partners around the world.

Ends. Media Contact: Isaac Jeffrey 0407 083 890